fbpx

Earth-Based Shavuot: A Day of Learning with Hazon, Pearlstone, Wilderness Torah, and Urban Adamah

May 29, 2020 - 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Join Hazon, Pearlstone, Wilderness Torah, and Urban Adamah for a virtual Shavuot day of earth-based Jewish learning! Together we’ll sing, study Torah, homestead and craft, tell stories, and connect with nature.
 
Schedule:
10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET: Welcome with Neshama Sonnenschein
10:10 am PT / 1:10 pm ET:  Nigun with Teva Educator/Musician Itai Gal
10:15 am PT / 1:15 pm ET: Participatory Singing with Urban Adamah’s Becca Heisler and Maddy Winard
10:40 am PT / 1:40 pm ET: Shavuot Text Study with Wilderness Torah’s Rabbi Zelig Golden. This session will focus on Shavuot itself as a holiday and the various relationships to wilderness, agriculture, Torah and how  we can celebrate as a JOFFE movement.
11:30 am PT / 2:30 pm ET: Bikurim (first fruit/harvest) Goat Parade with Adamah and Teva. Renew and re-enact the ancient procession to the Temple for Shavuot with our First Fruits (Bikkurim) Procession of Baby Goats.
11:50 pm PT / 2:50 pm ET: Hands-On Farmer Cheese Workshop with Pearlstone’s Stern Christian. Why do we eat dairy on Shavuot? Learn a simple way to make cheese while discussing the connection to this holiday!
12:00 pm PT / 3:00 ET: Shavuot Story-Telling with Aya Baron
12:15 pm PT  / 3:15 pm ET: Communal Bikurim (first fruit/harvest) Offering with Pearlstone. Bring your first fruits to the call! Actual fruits, whatever is popping up in your garden, or creative projects and we will gather together to honor our collective creativity!
12:35 pm PT/ 3:35 pm ET: Participatory Poetry. Wrapping up the day of programming with a taste of Revelation with Chloe Zelkha
12:50 pm PT/ 3:50 pm ET: Sikkum (Close)

Hazon, the Jewish Lab for Sustainability, is building a movement that strengthens Jewish life and contributes to a more environmentally sustainable world for all.

Isabella Freedman Jewish Retreat Center is the home of Hazon, and a Jewish farm-to-table retreat center in Falls Village, CT. Hosting the Adamah Fellowship and Teva, it is the epicenter of the JOFEE movement. Pearlstone is a year-round Jewish retreat center with a sustainable farm, and dynamic programming cultivating and inspiring vibrant Jewish life.
Wilderness Torah awakens and celebrates the earth-based traditions of Judaism to nourish the connections between self, community, earth, and Spirit. Urban Adamah is an educational farm and community center in Berkeley, CA that integrates the practices of Jewish tradition, mindfulness, sustainable agriculture, and social action to build loving, just, and sustainable communities.